Touchet Valley Trail

A trail connecting the rural communities of Dayton and Waitsburg has long been a dream.  The Port of Columbia has been working diligently to make that dream a reality since it was first identified as a priority at Columbia County’s 2015 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy meeting.  The 9.7 mile trail is included in the Blue Mountain Region Trails plan.  A concept plan is currently being developed for the trail, and design and engineering will begin in 2020.  Construction on the trail likely won’t begin until 2023 at the earliest, dependent on construction funds, maintenance plans, and engineering considerations.

The Port has received grants from the National Park Service and WSDOT that will aid in the design of the trail.  The project will be led by a steering committee who will engage in public outreach to ensure the final trail meets our community needs.

Read more detail here:  Background Information, Benefits, and FAQs for the Touchet Valley Trail

Please contact Jennie at 509-382-2577 or at with questions.  Check back on this website often for updates!